Lifestyle

RAK Club January: Let the Person Behind You In Line Go Before You

Some days, I get a little sad when I remember that all the Christmas and New Year holiday celebrations are over. I try so hard to keep the feeling of peace, warmth, and family time that we spend all December cultivating, but inevitably the tree comes down and the lights go out, and we are plunged into the bleak, frigid days of January and February. At least, that’s how it feels here on the northern East Coast.

 

I was inspired by a Facebook thread right after Christmas that shared the random acts of Christmas kindness people gave during the holiday season. My first thought was, “Why don’t we do these things all year long?” I remember being younger and asking my mother why it was so difficult to sign up for soup kitchens and volunteer organizations at the end of the year, and my mother couldn’t give me an answer that wouldn’t sound cold and heartless. We seem eager to perform heartwarming acts of charity during the Christmas season, but so many times we do not allow that fullness to spill over into the new year.

So in 2016 I will be attempting to spread some Christmas/Holiday cheer all year long. Follow me every 25th of the month for PinUpGirl Beauty’s RAK Club, where I will be posting a Random Act of Kindness we can all perform that day.

Today’s RAK Club task is easy:

Let the Person Behind You in Line Go Before You

IMG_2612.JPG

We all have times when we are in a rush. I have spent so many days in the Target line with one or two items, staring daggers in the backs of the people in front of me. So today, I am making the effort to slow down, relax, and learn to appreciate my fortune for having the time and funds to purchase my items. And that means I will be letting the person behind me go ahead, regardless of how many items that person has.

Want to get the RAK Club monthly task emailed to you directly? Sign up for our newsletter and stay in the conversation!

 

 

Leave a comment